Pritzker, Duckworth Win Reelection in Top-of-Ballot Races in Illinois

Pritzker, Duckworth Win Reelection in Top-of-Ballot Races in Illinois

(WRXX) – Top-of-the-ballot races in Illinois largely went to Democrats with incumbent Gov. JB Pritzker and Senator Tammy Duckworth easily winning reelection to their seats.

Democratic candidate Alexi Giannoulias won the nod to become the new Secretary of State to replace retiring Jesse White and Democratic incumbent Attorney General Kwame Raoul was reelected to his seat for another four years.

In Congressional races, Republican incumbents Mike Bost and Mary Miller won reelection to their seats, beating their Democratic challengers by double-digit margins.

Local races returned completely opposite results at the polls, with few Democrats appearing on the ballot for office and only one Democrat winning an unopposed seat on the Fayette County Board.

One of the few two-party races on the local ballot was a race between Incumbent Republican Sheriff in Jefferson County Jeff Bullard who retained his office with a 70% victory over his challenger Independent Rodney King.

Bullard thanked the voters of Jefferson County for placing their trust in him and vowed to work for better public safety and service.

In a challenged Judicial race, Republican Judge Michael McHaney handily won the race for a seat on the Fifth Judicial Appellate District against Democrat Brian Roberts.